CHAPTER XXV.—DEFENCE OF CANADA

CONSPECTUS

	PAGE		PAGE
Part I.—The Armed Services and Defence Research	1141	Subsection 4. The Defence Research Board	1154
Section 1. The Department of National Defence.	1141	Section 2. Services Colleges and Staff Training Colleges	1155
Subsection 1. The Royal Canadian Navy Subsection 2. The Canadian Army		Part II.—Defence Production	1158
Subsection 3. The Royal Canadian Air	1151	Part III.—Civil Emergency Planning (Civil Defence)	1164

The interpretation of the symbols used in the tables throughout the Year Book will be found facing p. 1 of this volume.

PART I.—THE ARMED SERVICES AND DEFENCE RESEARCH*

Section 1.—The Department of National Defence

The Minister and Associate Minister of National Defence exercise control over and management of the Canadian Armed Forces, the Defence Research Board and other matters relating to national defence. Under their direction the three Chiefs of Staff are responsible for the control and administration of their respective Services and the Chairman of the Defence Research Board is responsible for research and development in defence matters. The Chairman, Chiefs of Staff Committee is responsible to the Minister for ensuring that all matters of joint defence and defence policy, in their widest sense, are carefully examined and co-ordinated before decisions are made.

The civilian administration of the Department is organized under the Deputy Minister and is constituted on a functional basis. The Deputy Minister maintains a continuing review and control over the financial aspects of operational policy, logistics, and personnel and administration. The Deputy Minister is assisted by an Associate Deputy Minister and four Assistant Deputy Ministers each of whom administers a division of the Deputy Minister's branch responsible for matters of: administration and personnel; construction, engineering and properties; finance; and supply. Also responsible to the Deputy Minister are: the Controller General of Inspection Services, the Judge Advocate General, the Chief Secretary, and the Director of Public Relations.

A number of committees meet at regular intervals to consider and advise on joint issues. These include:—

- (1) Defence Council.—Composed of the Minister of National Defence (Chairman), the Associate Minister (Vice-Chairman), the Parliamentary Secretary, the Deputy Minister, the Chairman, Chiefs of Staff Committee, the three Chiefs of Staff, the Chairman, Defence Research Board, and the Associate Deputy Minister; its purpose is to advise the Minister on administrative and other matters.
- (2) Chiefs of Staff Committee.—Composed of the Chairman, Chiefs of Staff, the Chiefs of Staff of the three Armed Services and the Chairman, Defence Research Board. The Deputy Minister of National Defence, the Secretary to the Cabinet and the Under Secretary of State for External Affairs attend when required. The purpose of the Committee is to maintain a continuous review of all operational problems; sub-committees consider various aspects of these problems and report to the parent committee.

Prepared in the Office of the Deputy Minister, Department of National Defence, Ottawa.